Can’t stop

I’ve never come within a few thousand words of completing a book-length manuscript before, so this is a new one on me. I don’t want to finish!

I know what will happen, I’m excited to take the characters there, I’m getting up at 3:30 every morning and doing my 2,000 words – but I don’t want the fun to end.

Maybe because after “The End” comes the revision – or as Dr Kim Wilkins described it in a recent edition of WQ, “the puppy autopsy” ?

Help me, finishers… is this common – and is there a known cure?

3 Responses

  1. Hi Madam,
    Speaking as a “finisher” I would tell you to finish and stop procrastinating!!!! 🙂 Speaking as a friend, Dayley would tell you, you’ve done an awesome, awesome thing to nearly finish a book…you’re first one!!! What a great result. Revisions and edits are hard but well worth it. You’re next job is to write the query letter and I can help you with that. Then send it to 10 agents…I can help you with that too.
    Finish it up, and lets get on to the next one….its even more enjoyable than the last one!
    Dayley aka dana73

  2. Finishing? You’ve got at least three more drafts to go before you are anywhere near finsihed. Just get that first draft down. The first draft is not writing – all the writing is in the rewriting.
    Now, get going girlfreind.

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Hughesy. What a shame they only pipe (non-toxic) natural gas to my place. Anyone lend me some rope?

      Might have to postpone the rewrites until I can dash off a best-selling YA trilogy that encourages girlets to romance supernatural hunks… without any actual rooting, of course. Madam needs a new pair of Manolo thigh-high PVC stilletos.

Leave a Reply

