Cat Jail

$_20

OK, not our actual house but you know what I’m like with taking photos.  The enclosure we got is very similar, but it has marine carpeting to the base, also.  And an extra high shelf with ramp.  The tunnel to TGP’s window is shorter and there is a lockable cat flap.

I went with this mob because they coat the metal with something that’s said to be stronger than galvanising and meant to last 10 years plus.  As you know anything metal here usually rusts out in under 6 months and although I love Q’s Cat Max, I was concerned the fittings would crumble.

The good news is poor agoraphobic Flotsam can now venture out for a sunbathe.  The other good news is Dad paid for 2/3 of it.  Huzzah!

191 Responses

  1. Nicely done, MM!
    Having seen your little devils have-at my cat-max pen – and the feistier of the two actually escape, I think the solid wire is a very good idea.
    I bet they’re absolutely loving it.

  2. Can I have a go?

  3. Yes, but you dangle on the skipping rope we’ve hung in the corner at your own risk.

    Do you think they’d like a large version of a rat hammock?

  4. Is that anything like a bananana hammock?

  5. No, softer. And usually no banana, unless it is a monkey hammock.

  6. I bought one for mine but they don’t like it. I’m saving it for the next pair of kittens, so that they grow up with them. It’s funny how they’ve forgotten about them, as the breeder had a few hammocks around her home & they fought over them, there.
    I’ve found that what they most like is a good, sturdy scratching pole, the kind that’s shaped like a didgeridoo & surrounded by carpet – they can run up & down them & it’s almost as much fun as debarking a real tree.

  7. Yes, because it has no roof we’ll make one out of coppiced log and jute. But I’m not going to the hardware shop today. I promised myself I wouldn’t have to get dressed or go out.

  8. Pants!

  9. I had to drive some boys to the eel fishing spot anyway. But by the time I’d spent half the day in Woolies on the way home, I’d forgotten the hardware shop. Stupid pants.

  10. MK would have liked a trip to Woolies. She did the 40 hour famine over the weekend, and when it was over she spent another hour deciding what to eat. Silly girl. We had chocolate, and she has to think about it?

  11. Oh, what a good girl. Shame she doesn’t take after any of us.

  12. Psychiatric evaluation, STAT!

  13. For me? Oh, not again.

  14. I spent the afternoon with a psychologist. Does that count?

  15. For both of us? Yes, surely.

  16. You did come up in conversation, so that’s sorted then.

  17. Oh, dear. Should I pack a bag? When might they come for me?

  18. I warned them there would be kicking, screaming and a lack of pants, so they might not bother.

  19. You’re always looking out for me.

  20. I’m not into this look-out business since the chapter of NTO.
    Look away is better.

  21. I see NOTH-ING!

  22. That’s a coincidence. I KNOW nuzzing!

  23. No sé nada.
    I know nuffing in español – which is mal, because I have three exams in the next 7 days!
    If you’re wondering why I’m quiet or AWOL – que es porque!
    Normal programming will resume next Friday.

  24. Good luck, Q! Also, better you than me.

  25. I’m glad I’m not doing those exams, because I thought that said Why Is Pork?

  26. I thought it said “it’s a pig!’ as in a pig of a thing.

  27. Suddenly I want bacon.

  28. Me too. And all I bought to work is celery sticks, dip and an elephant mandarin. The worst thing about shopping is what you’re reduced to eat when you don;t do it.

  29. I wonder what Jamie Oliver packs in his wife’s work lunch when they can’t be fagged going shopping?

  30. Unsold Jamie Oliver foods, of course. WTF is a pollock cake and who on earth would buy one?

    Is what I always think in the freezer aisle at Woolies.

  31. Is it a Jackson Pollock?
    Again, beachside backpacker infested bathrooms inspire my curiosity.

  32. Now that lackwith from Council has rung up. I couldn’t find the boys microchip numbers anywhere and thought I’d just get them scanned when they get their shots next. Oh, that’s not good enough he can’t close his file until the numbers are recorded.

    Funnily enough he couldn’t come and do it after work or on the weekend.

    Still consumed with rage.

  33. Vanessa will have them on file. Do you want me to email you her email or phone so you can ask her?

  34. OK done, just in case. She’ll have it on file if she’s still with the same practice.

  35. Oh and chin up, think of the positive news for the day, Gerard has been flung back into jail & told he’s an utter arse. That’s got me smiling.

  36. Yes, wasn’t that perfect.? So happy for the family. Alison’s I mean.

  37. It’s incredibly sad, in a way. The poor children have lost both parents. But I’d hazard a guess that no parent at all is better than being raised by a man who killed your mother and got away with it.

  38. Oh, surely. My biggest fear throughout was that he’d get away with it and the poor kids would have to live with him. Imagine what a man could do to you if you lived in terror of him, knowing he’d killed your mother. Flowers In The Attic would look like a trip to Disneyland.

  39. At least the kids from Flowers In The Attic had doughnuts.

  40. Now I want a Margarita rimmed in bacon with a maple-glazed doughnut for garnish.

  41. I never could bring myself to read that book.
    There was enough horror to amuse me thanks to the prolific offerings of Stephen King.

  42. I always found Dean Koontz got into my head worse than Stephen King. King is absolutely the master of horror, but Koontz had a knack for plundering the horrors of human nature in a way that made me shudder.

  43. Did you read that Koontz book about the little mannikin thing? It really snowballs, It’s terrific!

  44. No, but I will absolutely look it up!

  45. I don’t think I ever read Koontz. I saw far too many of them in my 30 years in West End as it was.

  46. *groan*

  47. So many ghosts, or horror writers, or hippies, Q?

  48. All of the above. Plus junkies, narcissists and social workers.

  49. Eeeeergh. Social workers!

  50. I listed narcissists and social workers separately because not all narcissists are social workers.

  51. Psst, Catty… If we give her a few minutes to sound it out, do you think she’ll get it?
    MM you’ve obviously never spent the quality time that I have listening to Irish Ratsackers yelling out ‘You’re a pack of dirty fooking c>>>ts’.

  52. Ahhh. The received pronunciation at home is Strine, so it’s so clipped it borders on Seeth Afreekin. I also note that the young ones tend more to sh*tcee-word. To my ear that’s plain nasty.

  53. I keep seeing that on Facebook. I don’t like it.

  54. No, neither do I. I’ve reclaimed the plain old c-word, but that’s a c-word too far.

  55. Gender & insults is an interesting one.
    They were discussing it on the radio the other day & how ‘bugger’ and ‘dickhead’ have lost all their shock value.

  56. They have? Well bugger me. Actually, don’t. My ‘roids aren’t coping too well with the scourge from antibiotics.

    TMI?

    Sorry….

  57. Oh, the last thing you need is to shit any more blood. Poor Catty.

    Scumbag still seems to have currency, although how many who hurl it know the derication?

  58. derivation. too lazy to edit.

  59. I miss the days of hurled scumbags during question time.

  60. It’s a shame a few more scumbags weren’t deployed before their parents graced us with the incumbent Government.

  61. Is it possible to hurl an incendiary scumbag at the entire lot of them? Asking for a friend who isn’t sure about the flammability of latex, or the quantity of explosives required to ensure distribution throughout the entire room.

  62. You can get the latex-free ones. Or use a good old-fashioned sheep’s intestines, Cassanove style. If they were flammable, farting sheep would be exploding all over the country.

  63. Now there’s a Youtube video I’d like to watch.

  64. I need some sheep to keep the lawn down. The wallabies don’t seem to be doing a very good job of it, even though I keep finding plenty of wallaby pellets out there.
    Speaking of wildlife, when we came in from the train pick up on Friday night we saw the first snake of the season slithering across the road, too.
    I’m so glad that the Bloke cleared all of the weeds & grass on the fire-break, and we’ve managed to get rid of all that crap out the front yard that they were slithering through last summer, too.
    The Kookas are out in abundance, so they should stay on top of snake-control for the spring, you’d hope.

  65. Or the hawks. Have you seen that one flinging a snake at some snag-sizzling family in Victoria?

  66. hehehehehehe no but they missed some marvellous opportunities for that on FD down at the creek.

  67. The video ends with the snake chasing a woman as she ran off. Pfooey. I wanted to see it catch her.

  68. I don’t know what she was running from. Snakes are good tukka.

  69. Funny, that’s what snakes say about us.

  70. A snake would never eat me. He doesn’t know where I’ve been.

  71. My cousins in Perth reckon that the snakes do chase you, around those parts. Unlike Mr. Carpet Python, that simply hurried to cross the road before he wound up under my tyres.
    According to the local rag, they are getting very adventurous at the moment because it’s mating season. Lots of rumbles between the males. They reckon if you see one on the move, it’s because they’ve decided there’s an attractive female in a roof nearby. I do hope they don’t fall through the bathroom ceiling during their amours, I’d hate to wind up in the Gold Coast Bullet Tin’s Serpents of Hell files.

  72. Oooh, have they seen that cranky snake? GB, which is the really cranky snake that chases you?

  73. After a conversation with my FIL, I am sad to report the whole thing was just a stupid football stunt:
    http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/2016/9/hawthorn-claim-responsibility-for-viral-snake-video/
    Stupid bloody footballers, ruining everything again. Someone should drop a snake on them.

  74. They ought to lose competition points and sack the board, like Essendon. I wanted to believe in snake-chucking hawk.

  75. All of this makes me glad that I don’t watch telly.
    Although I did sit down and watch The Durrells on channel 7 iview, yesterday. I’d seen some reviews bagging it, but it was pretty much just as I remember from ‘My family and other animals’.
    The portrayal of Larry is great.
    Sorry…slight diversion, but the whole Animal chaos thing reminded me of that.

  76. Oh, I wanted to see that! I adored lots of the Durrells’ books – funnily enough. Thanks for the review, I’ll catch up, too. Freeview rocks!

  77. I’m attempting Tolstoy at the moment. We don’t have Freeview. *sigh*

  78. You have a computer, right? I know it’s not as comfy as watching from your recliner or couch, but you can watch iView, tenplay, and whatever the seven and nine ones are on your computer.

    Watch the Bondi Hipsters! Russian authors will make you excessively gloomy.

  79. And it’ll turn you to Stolly, and we know how that ends.
    The Durrells are fab, I went into it with low expectations & prepared to be forgiving, because so often things don’t translate well from story to screen.
    But it just feels right.
    They’ve got the essence of the characters just right.
    Catty surely you’ve still got a working computer?
    although given the amount of free time your hubby has these days, I suppose we need to consider the Gilligan/Computer Rebuild factor, and that possibly it’s been trashed.

  80. AKA Frankensteining

  81. The computer died a short while ago, and although the Boss managed to get it to start again, it’s making funny noises that we strongly suspect are death rattles. So, no streaming at the moment. 😦

  82. Rats and damn.

  83. Rattles are not good, unless you’re in a Victorian bassinet. The Queen type of Victorian, not you people.

    Would you like me to send you down some components? There might be some bits lolling about here.

  84. At the moment I’m trying to get motivated to back up all my files while I still have the chance. So…. many…. photos…

  85. Oh, yeah. Do it or you’ll kick yourself. You should be able to set and forget it.

  86. I really should have some of them printed up. We pulled out the photo albums the other day, and I haven’t put anything in them for five years. Bloody phone cameras!

  87. Enough ranting and get back to the backing up young lady.

  88. Exactamente. Pronto, hermana!

  89. Ooh, I know that from Breaking Bad. In fact, I can translate all of “Los Pollos Hermanos!”

  90. I went to visit Gran instead. She’s getting very cranky about still being alive. I told her she has a few years’ left in her yet (she does), and she told me to shut up. I love that woman.

  91. I’m actually getting the hang of this Spanish thing. It’ll come in ever so handy for watching arty films on iView on SBS. The youngsters in my class talk of visiting South America, but I can’t imagine ever not being shackled to a mortgage, to do that.
    Maybe in my dotage, if I can keep my knees working. 🙂
    I just staggered up & down the driveway with the dog, breathless thanks to the slope & the hazard burn smoke, and I’m already looking at all the stairs in this house thinking ‘oye. Five years, tops, and then California Bungalow, here we come.’
    I was down at Rainbow Bay with el perro yesterday am & I considered doing the stairs up to Point Danger, but then sanity kicked in & made me think better of it.
    Stairs!

  92. You can get bionic knees like Mum. She;s been to Europe on them.

    Good old Gran. Tell her if she dies now she has to go help St Teresa with all the holy orphans.

  93. Have you seen all those articles that say St Teresa was a terrible person who glorified suffering? I’d like to find the Canadians responsible for that and make them suffer.

  94. I kind of ignored them. I’m not interested in the fine detail. It’s enough for me that she took children that were being left to die by their own people and gave them the basics. That she did it through many decades of doubting her own faith makes it miraculous. I love her almost as much as St Mary McKillop.

  95. I find myself predisposed to like anybody who speaks well of the BVM. I’ve yet to be proved wrong.

  96. Huzzah, for that includes me! I love OL of anything. She’s seen me through some rough patches.

  97. Same here. More times than I can remember – and far more times than I deserved.

  98. Well, you know. She is a Mother.

  99. I’ve just come up for air out of my study revision & have no idea what’s happened in the world. What’s on OL and a BVM?
    I do like the sound of these bionic knees, though.
    If they can help me scale Machupichu when I’m 70, I’m all for them.

  100. Knee replacements? You must talk to Mother. I recall how they completely changed my Grandfather – he went from a morose and extremely limited in his activities man in chronic pain to as happy as a weasel and back in his beloved garden.

    Mum’s had her hips done, but again – pain and limitations gone. We walk daily, she does aquaaerobics twice a week and travels frequently and with great enjoyment.

    OL = Our Lady (Mary, Jesus’s Mum)
    BVM = Blessed Virgin Mary

  101. Bionic knees are a great idea for scaling Machupichu. It will confuse the aliens no end, when they abduct you.

    Yeah, I’ve been watching Ancient Aliens. *sigh*

  102. I reckon they’d be less obvious. You know, just siphon people off from the carpark of the DFO.

  103. Hehehehehe.
    From what I’ve seen of my shopping expeditions in there, more likely they are syphoning aliens into the DFO, as a portal for the long-awaited Take Over.

  104. Those places do scare me. But then again, not a big mall fan in general. Our Plaza isn’t too bad because there’s a stonking great creek that runs through the middle of it.

  105. Creeks never seem to be popular sites for alien landings. The rooftop carparks of the big Westfield complexes, OTOH…well.

  106. So I’ll be safe tomorrow? Cool, I have to take Gigantor to buy pants and shoes. Sigh.

  107. God help you. I just hope they have a donut stall.

  108. Several. And a Roll’d, which for fast food Vietnamese food is fresh and delicious.

  109. Rice paper rolls! Yum!
    I must get back to the twilight markets at the Wildlife sanctuary – they’ve got everything from donuts to Vietnamese to mezes platters, down there.

  110. Watch out for the eagles! Did you see that poor handler copped one to the face earlier in the week.

  111. Yes, that was unlucky. I’ve seen that hawk show & I’ve seen her down at Elephant Rock, training them & doing photo shoots.
    I guess you can never lose sight of the fact that they’re a wild animal, after all.
    I think she’s recovering at home now, fingers crossed she heals well.

  112. From what I’ve seen of them they’re very precise. i imagine she possibly turned to a sound or moved at an unlucky moment.

  113. Oooh, oooh, I know how to treat eagle wounds! “Infuse some blossom of the bitter orange. Add some sprinklings of sage while it is still warm. There are those who will add apricot and almond oil and even, the heavens defend us, sedra. But then there are always those that will overdo things. And sometimes we have need of them. Oh ah.”

    Or so Douglas Adams would have us believe. Fortunately, I’ve never needed to try this concoction myself.

  114. I forgot that! Which book was it from?

    Good old Douglas Adams.

  115. I wonder what sedra is?

  116. Dunno, but it’s in this!

    http://lush.pbworks.com/w/page/19637718/Reincarnate%20Solid%20Shampoo

  117. Odd that it’s not in google wiki or the dictionary. It must be some old world thing, Lush does like to drag those out of obscurity & add them to their array of knockout bath bombs.

  118. Maybe they’re using paper pulp filler made from an old copy of the Torah? It would be a lot less sweaty than an actual laying-on-of-hands.

  119. That makes me wonder if vegans do layings-on of five bananananas?

  120. Picturing vegans laying bananas is a hideous way to wake up from an afternoon nap.

  121. Ewww. Sorry, no, not in a zucchini sense.

  122. Goodness gracious! I’m going to have trouble using my spiraliser after this one.

  123. You’ll be all right. Just practise with a cucumber.

  124. Do the guinea pigs prefer them twisty? I’ve been giving them things whole on the grounds that it gives them something to do.

  125. We tried that, but our fussy piggy refuses point blank to eat anything that isn’t shaved thinly and lightly chilled. Sorry, any ‘food’ that isn’t shaved thinly and lightly chilled. She’s quite happy to eat any blankets or clothing or newspaper we giver her, no matter how they come.

  126. Umm … I think she might be a bandog.

  127. She’s a pest, is what she is.

  128. Hehehe. That’s what I say when I go out to the cage. “How are my sweet little rodents?’

    OK, change of tone. One of my friends lost his son last week. He’s older, so Adam was 43, but he left a wife and 3 kids and the terrible part is he dropped dead of a heart attack when with his brother, who is already burdened by a terrible back injury and PTSD he picked up in Afghanistan(army).

    What on earth can I say or do to help? I feel so terribly sorry for him and his wife.

  129. That is a hard one. They reckon there are three things you should do. The first thing is show up. Actually being there means so much. When people are suffering, it can be so hard to know what to do that many of their friends just stay away. It’s justified by saying, “oh, I don’t want to get in their way, I want to give them time to grieve”, but then as time passes they get more embarrassed and just let the friendship disappear. That can be incredibly painful to deal with. You start to surface from the grief and discover that your large circle of friends has become very, very tiny.

    The second thing is to empathise without diminishing their grief. “I know how you feel” can’t cut it – we don’t ever know how someone else feels, we only know how we feel, so “I feel your pain” is a far more accurate response. And it’s also useful. How would you like people to treat you if you were in their shoes? Would you like someone to show up with tub of ice cream and two spoons the day after the funeral? Would you like someone to show up with a bucket and mop and give you a hand with cleaning? Would you like someone to just sit next to you and hug you over a cup of coffee, listening while you talk about your lost loved one? Because odds are that’s what they would like too. Listening is so important.

    The third thing is to respond to their cues. If you call and offer a friendly ear and they say they don’t feel like talking, don’t take it personally. Wait a few days and try again. It might be too soon. Also, don’t be afraid to talk about the deceased. If it upsets them too much, change the subject (with a hug?) but it’s more likely they will derive some comfort that someone else loved their lost one too, and will be glad to talk about happy memories. That’s what wakes are all about.

    It’s a sad time for your friend, Madam, but you are an amazing person with a beautiful heart. I know you will find a way to lessen his burden. Will you be at the funeral?

  130. If I can get away from work.

    Thanks, that was all very useful stuff, Catty. And he’s emailed back that I can cook them some meals – huzzah! And when we do the meal exchange we can have coffee and I can listen. And hug. As required.

    Oh, it’s so very sad though. And I know it’s a cliche but they’re such nice people.

  131. Despite my belief that chocolate can cure everything, I don’t think it’s entirely true. But it does give your face something to do while your brain catches up. You should treat yourself to something gooey and sticky…. no, not the plumber, I’m talking about chocolate…. to help you through your own sadness. And here’s a bunch of hugs from us (0) (0) (0) (0) (0) because we know it can’t be easy for you either.

  132. Love you back. I don’t have words to let you and Q know how important you both are to me. Thank you, my friends.

    • Right back atcha you two.
      I wish I’d seen this earlier – I went out into the garden at 7.30am so I’ve only just emerged from a layer of grime & glyphosate – the dog next door did one of it’s vanishing acts this morning so I’ve been able to be outdoors all day without aggravating it’s loneliness. You’ll be pleased to hear that the front yard no longer gives off such an air of ‘neighbours from hell’ which of course we naturally exude.
      Mwah xxxxx

      • I dunno – if you want to strew some dud appliances around to keep away door knockers, let me know before we do a tip run.

      • LOL. There’s an installation on the beach at swell that looks like a bunch of abandoned white goods & there’s another one on the dunes called ‘the gym that got away’. There’s some nut that runs up and down the beach 3 days a week dragging a tractor tyre, so I do hope that dufus to hang around as a live model for it.

  133. Oh MM, that’s awful news. I’m so sorry to hear that.
    I have NFI what to do – just play it by ear, they’re your friends, you’ll pick up on the cues, and you’ll all muddle through.
    I’m the opposite of Catty, though, I need more alone time than I usually do after a bereavement, so I suspect it just depends if the loved ones are introverts or extroverts.
    I think the food thing is a brilliant idea, and just hang in there & be supportive over time.

    xxxxxx

  134. Yes, play it by ear is good advice. You’re a good friend, Morgana, and I know from experience that you will know the right thing to say and do, at exactly the right time. I don’t know how I would have survived my own ordeal without you and Quokka propping me up. I love you guys. Mwah!

  135. I can get to the funeral, so that’s a mercy. Wednesday. I’ve had a couple of sneaky cries. i don’t know how you’d manage to go one. For the ones who remain, i suppose.

  136. I hate funerals and when I trip off into the great beyond, I don’t want to have one. Funerals in my family are an excuse for the weirdoes to come out & say appalling things & cut the bereaved to the core.
    I figure if I don’t have one, then the weirdoes can’t come out of the woodwork. All those silly enough to genuinely miss me can congregate for a private send-off down at the SLSC or else wander off & eat cake together somewhere. I’d much prefer to think of my friends mopping up their tears with High Tea than listening to a chaplain drone on about the great hereafter.
    Other than that, I’ve long been a fan of Jessica Mitford’s ‘the American Way of Death’ and after having grown up next door to those grifter undertakers that spawned those prepaid war-widow funeral scams, I am absolutely, uncompromisingly, 100% opposed to handing over even the most miserly amount of green stuff to any of those parasitic vultures in the funeral industry.
    I get why people do funerals, & I believe in the power of ritual & community outpourings, but not for me, thanks.
    I’m glad you can get away to be with your friends, MM, I’m sure it’ll mean a lot to them to have you there.

  137. Duly noted, although hopefully I’ll die first. Hopetoun suit you, on the off-chance?

  138. Hopetoun sounds good. I’ve told the Boss if I go first, I don’t really care what he does with my earth suit. I won’t be using it any more, so it doesn’t matter what happens to it. Just as long as it’s cheap. For all I care, he can give me a goldfish funeral. But I have insisted that he not bury me with valuable items. Money isn’t any use where I’m planning on going – nor is it any use where I’ll probably end up.

  139. If you end up in Hell, Catty, it will only be because there is no Heaven.

  140. Wherever two or more of you are gathered over High Tea, count on it, my spirit will sniff out the chai & gateaux, & it will follow.

  141. Mmm … chai.

  142. Mmm … gateaux …

  143. Make mine a double.

  144. OK, today’s the funeral. As is traditional, I will wear underwear. Good vibes much appreciated.

  145. Hugs, warm vibes, and Mwahs.
    xxxxx hang in there MM.

  146. Sigh. Stupid life. Stupid pain.

  147. Yes, what Q said. Hugs for you and for the family. xxxxx

  148. Definitely lots of hugs, and then lots more hugs. And then a couple of vodka shots and some pastel de chocolate.
    I meant to tell you of my latest accomplishment in Spanish – I now know how to say that I must vacuum the floor because it is covered in cat fluff. Which makes me just about qualified to work as a maid for the rich & indolent in the hills of California.
    What’s the point to this, again?

  149. Tapas.

  150. And sangria. And markets and donkeys and lovely beaches and all those gorgeous little roadside chapels.

    And massage therapists called Juan. As in, just give me another quarter of a hour with Juan.

  151. Juan is never enough.

  152. Do it to me one more time
    Juan is never enough
    With a man like yoo-oo-oo

  153. That reminds me, I bought mint yesterday when I was in the nursery. The owner calls it ‘mojito bush’ & said that they usually need it by midday.
    It’s the same shopping centre where the IGA got rammed a few weeks ago…do you suppose they supply liquor as well as plants to their customers?

  154. There’s every chance, and I know how to check. Look for seed potatoes marked “vodka starter kit”.

  155. LOL. They’re characters, this lot. And they seem to have welcomed me into their fold. I bought a jacaranda from them a few weeks ago to put on the footpath. I had to check in with council to make sure I kept it 5m away from the storm water & the sewer pipes & having established that nobody knows where the hell they exactly are, I deemed it safer to return the jacaranda & swap it for something less destructive.
    No need for me to add to the shit storms around here, is there?

  156. Jacaranda (or back verandah as we always called them) aren’t worth the effort. All that water and pruning and raking for just two weeks of flowers? Bugger that.

  157. The one in the back yard used to flower for about 6 weeks. The blossoms looked so pretty on the pavers in our top courtyard. perhaps Melbourne just doesn’t have the right climate for them.

  158. I love them, they’re the Qld tree for me. But possibly not well-suited to a footpath, the rotting blossoms can be a bit of a slip hazard … I mean, we’re not encouraging your MIL to visit, are we?

  159. Oh,I forgot – the lawn mower dude messaged me at work ‘Are you keeping possums now?”

    Took a bit of banter before I realised he was talking about Flot and Jet’s new exercise yard.

  160. heheheheh. Bless those beasts, I’m sure they’re offering up plenty of entertainment.
    Have you been watching the Durrells? I’m still loving it.
    Thank heaven for iview, as I’m pretty sure it’s on at the same time as the Gruens and I love that show.
    By some strange quirk of fate it was all about funerals last night & the corporate cynical one urged everyone to go off & buy shares in funeral industry stocks as the death rate will double over the next 20 years as the Boomers pop off & he expects them to all spend lavishly on their funerals. I was horrified by the price of 25G for a funeral & the 100% mark up on coffins.
    Like I said – I’m a big fan of Decca Mitford’s work on exposing the industry.
    25G. FFS that’s a year’s minimum wage for someone. That’s nuts.

  161. I can’t see the need for all the fuss to be honest. I feel the same way about weddings. It’s amazing how the word ‘Wedding’ can increase the cost of roses by 100% at any florist. I’ve also been amazed by all the ads for funeral insurance they’ve been playing on the telly. What’s the world coming to if you can’t just keep a wad of fivers in a biscuit tin under the bed to pay for your burial any more?

  162. I loved Evelyn Waugh’s ‘The Loved One”, too, Q – have you read it?

    Yes, an unlike a funeral insurance plan, you can raid the bikkie tin as needed.

    It was a lovely service, although I don’t like these secular funerals. There was a very odd tape loop that’s obviously the “Dead Not Oldies” mix that included that I Wanna Touch The Sky dance track from a few years ago and a Journey song, for the love of smurf. A Mass is much more comforting.

    Nice setting though – just big plate glass windows, but framed in asymmetric arty style looking onto some wallum swamp. And vaguely shell-like plywood light fittings. All in all, it was like going to IKEA for a funeral. The celebrant did his best but he was a shade too camp and if I was him I would have practised pronouncing the widow’s name more often.

  163. Flatpack funerals…. Now I’ve heard of everything.

    Did they pick their own song list? I’m trying to think of Journey songs, and the only one I can think of is the one where they sing “Don’t stop breathing”… which seems dreadfully insensitive at a funeral.

    I’m sorry you had to go through all that, sweetie. Big hugs and virtual caek.

  164. I don’t like funerals and I think more often than not they do tend to miss the mark.
    And No, I must read that sometime.
    I watched the Durrells ep. 3 yesterday & Larry took Leslie out for drinks to cheer him up over his heartbreak. Hilarious watching the writer trying to talk to the gun enthusiast.
    Larry: ‘So…Somerset Maughan’s been a bit shit lately, don’t you think?’
    Les: ‘What? (strained silence) ‘I hear they’re going to change the sihts on the *insert favourite rifle brand here*’
    Larry: ‘What?’
    Hilarious. The screen writer did a wonderful job of assembling all the best bits of dialogue to show up the gulf between their characters.

  165. It’s on too late for me. I’m going to wait until I can rent it at the video shop or Gigantor lets me get Netflix. But I’m glad its true to the books, if it was like Jonny Depp’s Willy Wonka I would have been mucho dolor.

  166. Yeah, JD’s WW sucked. But then, he was trying to fill some pretty big shoes. Poor old Gene. 😦

  167. Oh no, more dead people. Let’s think about Monty Python instead. Almost all of them are still alive (apologies to Graham and parrot)

  168. The parrot is just resting.

  169. I think it’s on iTunes, MM, so you can probably just rent it, if you want.
    I watched another episode last night & I’m thoroughly confused by her budding romance with Sven the Swede. Wasn’t he gay? Unless they plan to drop that bombshell later. His house is full of paintings of male nudes.
    Perhaps they’re building up to that joke slowly, as the season finale.

  170. He’s pining for the fjords.

    He might have just been arty, I can’t remember. It was a fine line, back then. Particularly amongst the English.

  171. Swedes are up for anything. Including swedes.

  172. Then they’re freakier than me. You may also have all the turnips.

  173. And the radishes.

  174. Ooh, I’ll have the radishes and all of your Daikon.

  175. Take the radishes, but if you want my air-con you will have to wrest it out of my cold and de-humidified dead wrinkly hands.

  176. No radishes for me, either. But I couldn’t care less about the Daikon. It’s about 14ºC at the moment and I am like the little polar bear. F***ing freezing.

  177. Colour me jealous. I overheated poisoning the rest of the weeds on the fire break. The ones I poisoned earlier in the week are turning a lovely shade of yellow so I went nuts with the spray pack this arvo. Not looking forward to summer, as I came in dripping with sweat.
    Still, that glyphosate was covered in dust & I reckon it must be at least 10 years old so huzzah for the durability of chemical poisons.

  178. C-c-c-c-c-can’t t-t-t-t-t-type….. t-t-t-t-t-t-t-too c-c-c-c-c-c-cold…..

  179. I don’t need no steenking air con I have sea breezes. When I’m not reclining in this boutique hotel suite in Sydney. I mean those big Asian radish thingos. They’re daikon too aren’t they?

  180. Oh yes. Mooli. I wouldn’t eat that either. Yuk! It sounds like the name of an old, diseased cat.

  181. That pretty ridge to the east of our house blocks a lot of the easterlies – I knew that before we bought it but with AC, who cares? Besides, you all know that I want to end up somewhere between Currumbin & Murwillumbah, so since the trade-off is it’s 5 minutes to the train, here, I call that a good deal.
    So you’re in Sydney already MM? where are you staying? near the Rocks? You have to take the children to see the candy maker in there – and hope they’re making peppermint humbugs…OMG the fragrance!

  182. I love the smell of fudge-makers’ shops. Mmmmm….

    Are you going to Luna Park? Be careful of the Ghost Train. It’s been known to catch on fire. And be careful of the Harbour Bridge. It’s also been known to catch on fire. And take care around the Blue Mountains. There’s been the odd fire there as well. Hmmmm, maybe you should check out of the hotel and go stay at the fire station. The view will be nice, at least.

  183. Mmm….fudge.
    Maybe I should make caramel fudge again today.
    I still think Luna Park was a bit of a disappointment – go the zoo, MM, my Sydney friends all say it’s much better worth your time.
    I still haven’t been, because we opted to go to Luna Park instead – meh. I got lured in by the history of it. Sadly, it wasn’t all that interesting.

  184. Aw, but I liked Luna Park! Still, you might have a point. At Taronga, there’s a slightly higher chance of seeing a bogan child being eaten by a wild animal.

  185. I’ve often wondered why that doesn’t happen more often but after speaking to the locals at the Mudgeeraba Show, they assure me that bogans don’t take their children to the show or the zoo. They’re all at the mall, shoplifting and selling drugz.
    Makes sense when you think about it.

Leave a Reply

